

COP28 Ministerial Meeting Coalition of Finance Ministers for Climate Action

Agenda

Monday 4 December 2023, Finance Day, 6:00–7:30 PM (90 min) GCA – Lab 1 – Al Shaheen (blue zone, B7, building 92), Expo City Dubai

The Role of Finance Ministers in Mobilizing Public and Private Climate Finance

18:00 - 18:15	Opening remarks
	• H.E. Sigrid Kaag, Minister of Finance and Deputy Prime Minister of the Netherlands,
	Co-Chair of the Coalition of Finance Ministers for Climate Action
	Kristalina Georgieva, Managing Director, International Monetary Fund
	Axel van Trotsenburg, Senior Managing Director, World Bank Group
	Simon Stiell, Executive Secretary, UNFCCC
	H.E. Ambassador Majid Al Suwaidi, COP28 Director General
18:15 – 18:23	Presentation by the Independent High-Level Expert Group on Climate Finance (IHLEG)
	 Lord Nicholas Stern, Vera Songwe and Amar Bhattacharya
18:25 – 18:45	Setting the stage: Panel session
	• Tatiana Rosito, Deputy Secretary for Sustainable Finance, Ministry of Finance, Brazil
	• Benjamin Diokno, Secretary of the Department of Finance, Ministry of Finance,
	Philippines
	Jeanine Munyeshuli, Minister of State in Charge of Public Investment and Resource
	Mobilization, Rwanda
	Charlotte Vere, Parliamentary Secretary, HM Treasury, United Kingdom
18:45 – 19:25	Responses from participants in the room (2 min per speaker)
	Naadir Hassan, Minister for Finance, Economic Planning and Trade, Seychelles
	Mihaly Varga, Minister of Finance, Hungary
	Mohammed Amin Adam, Minister of State, Ghana
	 Azucena Arbeleche, Minister of Economy and Finance, Uruguay
	Achim Steiner, Administrator, UNDP
	Werner Hoyer, President, EIB
	Open floor for additional minister-level respondents
	Note: The floor will be opened for additional high-level participants from the room as time
	allows. We are noting the requests and intend to accommodate as many as possible.
19:25 – 19:27	Summary of the discussion
19:27 – 19:30	Closing remarks
	H.E. Sri Mulyani Indrawati, Minister of Finance of Indonesia, Co-Chair of the Coalition of Finance Ministers for Climate Action